On 31 December 2006, Areas and Districts were
disestablished to make way for the new Region and Zone structure which started on 1 January 2007.

Both the upper and lower islands were broken into five regions, which were then broken down further into zones. The five regions are Upper North Island, Central North Island,
Lower North Island, Upper South Island (Scouting Aoraki)
and Lower South Island.

*Hisitory courtesy of The Histories Book
New Zealand Scout Badges Varieties Catalogue - 10th Edition
Badgers Club New Zealand